Skip to main content

WMIA presents Wooden Globe Awards


During the 2019 Woodworking Industry Conference, the Woodworking Machinery Industry Association recognized two companies and an educator for excellence, presenting them with the association’s annual Wooden Globe Awards.

Since 1989, the Wooden Globe Awards have been presented for notable success and achievements, accomplished in part through the use of high technology machinery and software supplied by WMIA-member companies.

“The Wooden Globe Award winners serve as a powerful example of how investing in new equipment and technology can impact a company’s productivity, efficiency, and profitability,” Larry Hoffer, WMIA President and CEO, said in a statement. “WMIA is proud to recognize these companies, which have been able to differentiate themselves from their competition. It is also vitally important to recognize the contributions of educators, given the importance of building a future workforce to sustain the industry.”

Appalachian Wood Products of Clearfield, Pa., received the Commitment to Excellence through Technology Award, presented to a company which provides a shining example that continued investments in high technology machinery provide the necessary competitive advantage to compete successfully in today’s global market.

AWP is a major supplier of cabinet components, including doors, drawer fronts, door and cabinet framing, glued panels, moldings, and drawer parts for the kitchen and bath industry.

The Innovator Award is presented to a company which currently produces a unique and innovative wood-based product or utilizes an innovative process to produce a wood-based product using high technology machinery supplied by one or more WMIA-member companies. Fiber Commercial Technologies of Mankato, Minn., was this year’s recipient.

FCT has developed a new process to recycle carpeting out of our nation’s landfills and turn it into exterior building products.

Mark D. Roberts, adjunct instructor at Mesa Community College in Mesa, Ariz., received the 2019 Educator of the Year Award, which is presented to an educational institution or company with a structured curriculum tailored to training individuals for careers in the woodworking industry.

Related Articles

A) WIC Wooden Globe winners (1)

WMIA presents Wooden Globe Awards at WIC

The Woodworking Machinery Industry Association announced the winners of its Wooden Globe Awards at the 2022 Woodworking Industry Conference held in the Bahamas.


WMIA honors Wooden Globe recipients

Each year, the Woodworking Machinery Industry Association recognizes extraordinary companies and individuals with its Wooden Globe awards.

WMIA awards annual scholarships

The Woodworking Machinery Industry Association’s Educational Foundation has awarded eight scholarships to students totaling $12,400.


WMIA awards $28,000 in scholarships

The Woodworking Machinery Industry Association’s Educational Foundation awards scholarships to those who want to study and eventually pursue a career in wood technology, machinery, and related fields.

WMIA Jim Besonen

WMIA elects Chairman of the Board

The Woodworking Machinery Industry Association elected a new slate of officers, including Jim Besonen, president of Wood Machinery Systems Inc. in Minnetonka, Minn., as Chairman of the Board at the 2019 Woodworking Industry Conference in Amelia Island, Fla.


WMIA awards annual educational scholarships

WMIA awards annual educational scholarships.

WMIA honors Jeffrey Wasserman as Educator of the Year

The Woodworking Machinery Industry Association will present its 2020 Educator of the Year award to Jeffrey Wasserman, an instructor at Seattle Central College’s Wood Technology Center.