SAPFM selects 2011 Cartouche Award winner

Ben Hobbs of Hertford, N.C., was named the 2011 Cartouche Award winner by the Society of American Period Furniture Makers.

Image placeholder title

Hobbs has been building period reproduction furniture for more than 20 years. A former math teacher, Hobbs has trained all three of his sons to be accomplished furniture makers and, in 1996, opened his own furniture-making school called Hobbs Furniture Classes.

Hobbs will be honored Jan. 17 at the SAPFM annual Cartouche Award banquet at Colonial Williamsburg in Virginia.

For information, visit www.sapfm.org.

Related Articles


SAPFM honors Tony Kubalak with its Cartouche Award

SAPFM honors Tony Kubalak with Cartouche.


Bob Stevenson wins Cartouche Award

Bob Stevenson wins Cartouche Award.


Virginia furniture maker wins Cartouche Award

The Society of American Period Furniture Makers recently announced James R. (Ray) Journigan, Sr., owner of The Colonial Craftsman in Virginia Beach, Va., as its 2018 Cartouche Award recipient.

Winners of Plywood Challenge selected

Rockler Woodworking and Hardware, in partnership with The Modern Maker Podcast, announced winners of its Plywood Challenge.