Skip to main content

Remodeling association elects new officers

During its spring House of Delegates meeting, the National Association of the Remodeling Industry named immediate past president Michael Hydeck of Hydeck Design Build in Telford, Pa., as its chairman of the board and elevated Dean Herriges of Urban Herriges & Sons Inc. in Mukwonago, Wis., to the office of president.

As Hydeck enters his new position as chair of the board of directors, he notes the trade group’s successes during the last year. “NARI members have assisted in government affairs initiatives and were instrumental in the EPA’s decision to not add the clearance test to the Lead Renovation, Repair & Painting Rule,” Hydeck said in a statement. “In addition, three independent remodeling associations have joined NARI as new chapters.”

Herriges has served on the National Association of the Remodeling Industry executive committee for the last six years, as well as having a variety of positions at the Milwaukee/NARI chapter, including being a current member of its board of directors as well as a past president of the chapter. In 1995, Herriges won the Henry Spies Superstar award for receiving the highest test score on the Certified Remodeler exam.

“My focus this year is three-pronged,” Herriges said. “First, NARI is committed to enhancing member value by providing innovative technologies designed to help members achieve greater business success. Next, we are expanding our industry presence and our voice in Washington through development of a research program that focuses on industry trends and the profile of NARI members. Finally, we will continue to push the NARI name and values associated with hiring NARI members to consumers.”

The remaining officers, also elected and announced during the meeting, include: president-elect Fred Spaulding of Quality Home Improvements Inc. in Kingwood, Texas; treasurer Art Donnelly of Legacy Builders & Remodelers Corp. in Holbrook, N.Y., and secretary Kevin Anundson of Owner Assisted Remodeling, in Elm Grove, Wis.

Related Articles


HMA elects officers, executive committee

The Board of Directors of the Hardwood Manufacturers Association elected Tommy Petzoldt of the East Perry Lumber Co. in Frohna, Mo., as president during its National Conference and Expo in Miramar Beach, Fla.