Lash wins Cartouche award


The Society of American Period Furniture Makers presented Steve Lash, co-founder of the organization, with the 2010 Cartouche Award at its annual banquet Jan. 18 at Colonial Williamsburg in Williamsburg, Va.

The Cartouche Award is the society's way of acknowledging the contributions made by craftsmen, educators, conservators, and supporters, professional or hobbyist, who have inspired or instructed others or who have simply made the world more pleasing as a result of their skillful labors.

Lash and Mickey Callahan, current society president, founded the organization in 2000 to bring together those who shared a passion for period furniture. Through the 10 years of its existence, the society has grown to more 1,000 members with regional chapters and an annual mid-year conference. Lash and Callahan were also presented with plaques for their service to the group by 2001 Cartouche Award winner John McAlister.

Lash, of Bloomfield Hills, Mich., presented a slide show of many of his reproductions, including Benjamin Franklin's glass armonica, a Simon Willard tall case clock, a pair of knife cases based on cases belonging to the Kaufman Collection in Norfolk, Va., and an exquisite William and Mary game table.

For information, visit:

Related Articles