Skip to main content

AWI foundation names scholarship winners

The Architectural Woodwork Institute Education Foundation is awarding $25,500 in financial aid to 10 scholarship winners.

NESAW director Greg Larson (right) with student scholarship winner Jake Cazja.

The winners were chosen from a pool of applicants nominated by woodwork technology instructors from secondary and post-secondary schools across the U.S.

“This year’s scholarship program attracted a larger number of new schools and a greater variety of institutions participating than in previous years. We believe that students are envisioning the architectural woodwork industry as a viable career path, whether on the manufacturing side or the management side,” foundation chairman Kent Gilchrist said in a statement.

Winners include Bryce Ahlers, Preston Boyd and Kelson Classen (Pittsburg (Kan.) State University); Ben Gonzales (Cerritos College); Michele Brenes (Fox Valley Technical College); Ellen Cahill (Madison Area Technical College); Jake Cazja (New England School of Architectural Woodworking); Jason Astor (MILL National Training Center); Andrew Dearing (Utah Valley University), and Lucas Pipkin (Appalachian State University).

Nominees were judged on grades, references and personal letters. Special consideration was given to those pursuing a career in the woodwork industry.

For more, visit

This article originally appeared in the August 2017 issue.

Related Articles

WMIA education arm hands out scholarships

The WMIA Education Foundation awarded $31,500 in scholarships toward pursuing a career in wood technology, machinery and related fields


AWI Education Foundation receives $2 million donation

The Architectural Woodwork Institute Education Foundation (AWIEF) recently received a donation of $2 million from the Quality Certification Corporation with $1 million designated for Randolph Estabrook Educational Scholarships for individuals and $1 million earmarked for grants of accredited secondary and post-secondary architectural woodwork programs.


AHFA Foundation awards four grants

The American Home Furnishings Alliance (AHFA) Furniture Foundation recently awarded $44,000 in grants for 2021, with a focus on scholarships for training and academic programs to support the industry.


WMIA awards $28,000 in scholarships

The Woodworking Machinery Industry Association’s Educational Foundation awards scholarships to those who want to study and eventually pursue a career in wood technology, machinery, and related fields.