Skip to main content

Yestermorrow names new executive director

Kate Stephenson was selected as the new executive director at the Yestermorrow Design/Build School in Warren, Vt.

Stephenson has a long history with Yestermorrow. She first came to the school in 2002 as a design/build intern and has held a variety of positions within the organization. She has served as an associate director and director of operations. She has been serving as the school’s interim executive director since October 2008.

“We’re thrilled that Kate has agreed to serve as Yestermorrow’s next executive director,” says Mac Rood, chair of the school’s board of directors. “She knows the school inside and out. More than that, she truly embodies Yestermorrow’s mission and philosophy of empowerment through education and our appreciation of the interrelationship of the built- and natural environment. Kate is the right person to take the school into its 30th year and beyond.”

Yestermorrow Design/Build School embraces the principles of sustainability, craftsmanship, experiential learning, and place-based education that emphasize the development of individual design skills, self-confidence, personal creativity, and social responsibility.

"My vision for Yestermorrow includes a diverse curriculum with a variety of opportunities for both professionals and novices, a thriving campus which demonstrates Yestermorrow’s approach to sustainable design and building, a dedicated network of faculty, alumni and friends around the country, expanded partnerships with academic institutions, and a rigorous semester program that is unique in the world of architectural education," says Stephenson. "I'm excited to help bring the school to new levels of influence and impact."

For information, visit

Related Articles


Center for Furniture Craftsmanship names new executive director

The board of directors of the Center for Furniture Craftsmanship in Rockport, Maine, has appointed Matt Hoggle as its executive director, effective June 1.

SMA adds new executive director

Terra Erb is the new executive director of the Stairbuilders and Manufacturers Association, allowing former executive director Dave Cooper to focus on code development and consultation.