AWI Education Foundation names scholarship winners


The Architectural Woodwork Institute Education Foundation is awarding $25,500 in financial aid to 10 scholarship winners.

The winners were chosen from a pool of applicants nominated by woodwork technology instructors from secondary and post-secondary schools across the U.S.

"This year's Scholarship Program attracted a larger number of new schools and a greater variety of institutions participating than in previous years. We believe that students are envisioning the architectural woodwork industry as a viable career path, whether on the manufacturing side or the management side,” foundation chairman Kent Gilchrist said in a statement.

The winners are:

Bryce Ahlers, Preston Boyd and Kelson Classen – Pittsburg State University

Ben Gonzales – Cerritos College, Norwalk, CA.

Michele Brenes – Fox Valley Technical College

Ellen Cahill – Madison Area Technical College

Jake Cazja – New England School of Architectural Woodworking

Jason Astor – The MILL National Training Center

Andrew Dearing – Utah Valley University

Lucas Pipkin – Appalachian State University

CLICK HERE for information.

Related Articles

WMIA education arm hands out scholarships

The WMIA Education Foundation awarded $31,500 in scholarships toward pursuing a career in wood technology, machinery and related fields